Skip to content
    Search 0
    • The Boardman-Tasker Award for Mountain Literature

      The Boardman-Tasker Award for Mountain Literature is awarded annually to the author or authors of the best literary work, whether fiction, non-fiction, drama or poetry, the central theme of which is concerned with the mountain environment.

      Joe Tasker and Pete Boardman, West Ridge, Kanchenjunga 1979. Photo by Doug Scott.

    We're proud to support the Boardman-Tasker award for mountain literature

    Established in 1983 to commemorate the lives of Peter Boardman and Joe Tasker, the Boardman-Tasker award for mountain literature is one of the most prestigious and respected literary awards there is and we’re delighted to be able to officially support it.

    Climbing, mountaineering, and Alpinism in particular, have always been more than just a physical pursuit, and mountaineering literature more than just a physical record. Few other activities can have compelled so many of its participants to express themselves through writing, and even fewer seen so many of its most celebrated protagonists prove their worth as authors, a fact that the Award has sought to recognise and celebrate.

    For sixty years we have been closely associated with Alpinism and we owe much to Pete and Joe, and those that they climbed with, not only for their achievements but for the generations since that they have challenged and inspired. We hope that by supporting the Boardman Tasker Award for Mountain Literature we can encourage others help to experience and understand the mountain environment through literature.

    "I’m delighted with the news that the Boardman Tasker Prize will now be supported by Mountain Equipment. Pete and Joe often relied on Mountain Equipment’s high-altitude garments on expedition, so the link is a close one, and I know both parties feel this association is a perfect match on many levels.”

    Chris Bonington

    "BT trustees welcome the offer by M E to support and assist promotion of the 2021 Award and to amplify the BT message. The possibility of a promotional film of the short listed authors and their books, a press release and enhancing the Award presentation are all greatly appreciated. It is appropriate that this is offered by M E, one of the oldest and most reputable UK mountain equipment manufacturers, given the support they provided to Peter and Joe and to several of their expeditions back in the day."

    Martin Wragg

    2023 Boardman Tasker Award

    The Boardman Tasker Award for Mountain Literature continues to attract a substantial degree of
    interest and level of entries. In this our Fortieth Anniversary Year, there were 21 entries, with authors
    from Great Britain, Bulgaria, the USA and Nepal.

    The winner will be announced at the Kendal Mountain Festival on Friday November 17th 2023 at 7pm.

    • Pradeep Bashyal & Ankit Babu Adhikari. Stories Of Life And Death From The Forgotten Guardians Of Everest
    • Katie Brown: A Climber’s Journey Through Darkness And Back
    • Merryn Glover: A Cairngorms Journey With Nan Shepherd
    • Leo Houlding: Closer to the Edge.
    • Faye Rhiannon Latham: British Mountaineers

      Trace your down

      What is the DOWN CODEX code?

      Click here to get a demo code and trace